Announcement

Collapse

Study Room Guidelines

Ok it isn't so quiet in here but our resident librarian will ensure that there is good discussion on literature, prose, poetry, etc. You may also post sermons, notes, and the like as long as it is not copyrighted material and within reason of the post length regulation.

We encourage you to take a lose look at the threads and offer honest and useful input. This forum is a place where we discuss literature of any media, as well as personal creations by some of our own wordsmiths. Debate is encouraged, but we often find ourselves relaxing here.

Forum Rules: here
See more
See less

Our Friend the Yellow Jacket

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Our Friend the Yellow Jacket

This essay was written about 25 years ago. I'm still an active land surveyor, but pretty much confined to office work any more.
    yellow jacket.jpg

OUR FRIEND THE YELLOW JACKET

Often at picnics and barbecues I watch people swing their hands to chase these winged insects away from their sandwich plates as they exclaim, “Bees!” Actually, they are not bees. Bees belong to a group known as social insects because of their communal lifestyle. The truth is, yellow jackets are anything but social. Just disturb one of them and watch just how social they can get. Look at one of them closely as it crawls around your lunchmeat, looking for a tasty morsel. The facial expressions on these beady-eyed creatures seem to say, “Go ahead. Just try it!” Anybody who has experienced one of their sting operations will know enough to let them munch away to their heart’s content.